Transfer your service in My Business

Overview

Transfer your service (TYS) is when someone assumes billing responsibility for someone else’s mobile number. TYS requires authorization from both the current owner and the new person responsible for the line. 

You can complete a TYS in My Business if the relinquishing party (person transferring their line) has a personal Verizon line that’s managed in My Verizon.  

If you’re transferring a government line or are doing a business to business line transfer, click here for step-by-step instructions. 

Requirements for the existing & new account holders

For the existing account holder:
  • Your account balance must be current.
  • You’ll still be responsible for account charges until the TYS has been completed.
  • Any transfer of service not completed within 15 days of the request will be automatically canceled, and a new request must be submitted.

The assuming party can make a request in My Business to take ownership of a line, or the relinquishing party can release their line to the assuming party in My Verizon.

For the new account holder:

Once the mobile number has been released, the assuming party/My Business user will receive an email with a link to complete the transfer in My Business.

  • The assuming party is subject to a credit check before the line can be transferred. 
  • A security deposit may be required. 
  • If this line is being added to an existing Verizon Wireless account, that account must be current.
  • All transferred lines may be required to switch to a currently available plan.

TYS navigation in My Business

Transferring a line

Releasing a line request

Completing a transfer

Government users & Business line to Business TYS

A My Business user can transfer a line to another Verizon business customer. The process starts with the person relinquishing their line.
Instructions for the existing account holder in My Business
New account owner instructions