My Business User Roles

Overview

Your user role determines which features and functionality you can use in My Business and the My Verizon for Business app.

Primary Contacts and Administrators have access to all features and functionality, plus can edit user informationadd usersedit or remove users, and start the password reset process

Common user roles and their permissions are detailed in User roles and permissions below.

Viewing and changing your user role

How can I check my user role?

  1.  Sign in to My Business.
  2. Click your name in the upper right corner of the screen.
  3. In the “User Settings” column, click My Profile.

On the “My Profile” page, you’ll see:

  • Your username
  • Your user role

 There’s also a link for your Security Profile, where you can change:

  • Your My Business password
  • Secret question and answer
  • One-time passcode options (text or email)

How can I change my user role?

 Contact your account Primary Contact or Administrator to update your user role. 

User role notes

Notes on My Business permissions and reports: 

  • When new lines or accounts are created, if users have access to all accounts and lines, they automatically inherit access to new accounts and lines.
  • If a user doesn’t have access to all accounts or lines, the Primary Contact or an Administrator will have to manually add them to new accounts or lines. 
  • A Primary Contact or Administrator must also manually remove permissions if a user should not see a new account or line.
  • My Business users can only access data they’re assigned to see. Certain reports, such as Raw Data Download reports, export data from all of your company My Business accounts. 
    • For example, users with Reports access may not see certain reports if they’re not assigned to all accounts and lines on your profile. 
  • If you can’t see a specific report, talk to your account Primary Contact to confirm or update your access so that you’re assigned to all accounts and lines.

User roles and permissions

All users can access their profile, change their password and access My Business Support.   

Primary Contact - Primary Contacts are responsible for creating user IDs and granting access to My Business users within your organization, and has access to all My Business functionality. 

Administrator - Can also create user IDs, grant access to My Business users within your organization, and access all My Business functionality.

Note: There can be multiple administrators, but only one Primary Contact.

Analyst - Access to most My Business functionality, but can’t create or edit users, assign users to billing accounts, mobile numbers or company structures, or create or modify company structures.

Buy - Access to all orders transactions, such as adding new devices, upgrading devices and purchasing accessories.

Note: The Buy role can’t change voice plans when upgrading a device, but can change text messaging and data allowances.

Maintain - Users with this role can do most service management transactions, upgrade devices, change plans, view billing statements, view the account summary and see most reports. Maintain users can’t add new lines of service, purchase accessories or make payments. 

Maintain and Pay - Users with this role have the same functionality as Maintain users, but Maintain and Pay users can make payments.  

Maintain Limited - Users with this role can do most service management transactions, but can't add new service, make purchases or make payments.

Maintain Service Only - Users with this role can add new lines of service, make plan and feature changes, and some account maintenance transactions. 

Maintain Service Plus - Users with this role can view bill information, but not make payments. They can also create reports, add new lines of service, upgrade devices, make plan and feature changes, and account maintenance transactions. 

Maintain Service Business - Users with this role can create most reports and do some account maintenance transactions. They can't view bill information, can't make payments or deactivate lines of service. 

Product and Service - This is a role limited to managing Product Tools that your company has opted to set up, such as One Talk. 

Reporting - Reporting users have access to reports, usage data and some billing functions, but can’t buy or upgrade devices, activate devices or make payments. 

View and Pay - Users can view billing information, can make payments and run reports.

View Only - Users have view-only access to billing and reports, but can’t make payments.